Home > 2009 > American Samoa >

2009 American Samoa 24 Karat Gold Quarter - Denver

2009 American Samoa 24 Karat Gold Quarter - Denver

Our Price: $3.95
Year: 2009
Mint(s): Denver
Composition: Cupro Nickel Clad
Diameter: 24.26 mm

Product Code: 18037

The United States Territory Quarter Program

The 2009 American Samoa Quarter is the fourth coin in the United States Territories Quarter Series. The series is an extension to the 50 State Quarter series that honored each of the 50 State between 1999-2008. This series includes: District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands and Northern Mariana Islands. This time, there will be 6 Quarters for release annually. (the State Quarter Program only issued 4 per year.) Each of the 6 quarters will be issued for only about 8-9 weeks, making their production limited. Like the State Quarters, each quarter will be minted from the Philadelphia and the Denver Mint. The obverse design showing George Washington remains unchanged, while the reverse design reflects the history and culture of the District of Columbia and the US Territories.

American Samoa is a territory of the United States located in the South Pacific Ocean. The main island is Tutuila, with the Manu'a Islands, Rose Atoll, and Swains Island. American Samoa is part of the Samoan Islands chain, located west of the Cook Islands. The 2000 population recorded was 57,291. People born in American Samoa, are American nationals, but are not American citizens unless one of their parents is a US citizen.

The quarter reverse design depicts the Ava bowl ("tanoa"), a whisk and staff. Also, a coconut tree on the shore; and the inscriptions, "AMERICAN SAMOA and SAMOA MUAMUA LE ATUA," which means "Samoa, God is First."

Each uncirculated quarter is layered 7 times in pure 24 karat gold. This Denver Mint coin is encapsulated to protect it's condition.

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

2009 > American Samoa
State/National Park Quarters > State Quarters > 2009 > American Samoa
State Qtrs & Parks > State Quarters (1999 to 2009) > 2009 > American Samoa