Collector's Journal A Service of Collectors Alliance

2007 George Washington Presidential Dollar

First in the Presidential Dollars Collection

The 2007 George Washington Dollar is the first coin in the U.S. Mint's Presidential Dollars collection. It was released on February 15, 2007. According to the Presidential \$1 Coin Act of 2005, each of America's Presidents who has been dead at least five years will be honored on a unique Presidential Dollar coin. Coins are issued at the rate of four per year and in the order in which the Presidents served. Each coin is a limited edition of about three months.

George Washington was the first President, so he is also the first to be featured on a Presidential Dollar. Additional coins for 2007 are John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison, the second through fourth Presidents respectively. The Presidential Dollar is identical in size, weight, and metal composition to the Sacagawea Golden Dollar. All coins are struck for circulation at both the Philadelphia and Denver Mints.

The obverse of the Washington Dollar depicts a portrait of George Washington. The reverse shows the Statue of Liberty and will remain unchanged for each of the coins in the collection. Unlike all other circulating coins, the word "Liberty" does not appear on the Presidential Dollar. Another unique feature of the Presidential Dollar is the edge-incused inscriptions. The year of issue, "E Pluribus Unum," "In God We Trust," and the mint mark appear on the edge. The lettering is incuse, or sunken into the surface, rather than rising above it.

Each Presidential Dollar is struck at the same time as the First Spouse gold \$10 coin honoring the President's wife during his term of service. The gold coin is struck in one-half ounce of 24-karat gold. The U.S. Mint will also produce a bronze medal featuring the same designs as the gold coin. The First Spouse coin and medal accompanying the George Washington Presidential Dollar depict Martha Washington.



George Washington

George Washington was born in Virginia on February 22, 1732. He was a soldier in the Virginia militia before entering politics for the first time as a member of the Virginia House of Burgesses. In addition, he was active in running his Mount Vernon estate in Virginia.

During the American Revolution, Washington became one of America's greatest heroes. In 1775, he was named Commander-in-Chief of the Continental Army to lead America's fight for independence against the British. He secured victory through his inspiring leadership and brilliant military tactics

Following the American Revolution, Washington continued to play a key role as one of America's "founding fathers." He helped draft the U.S. Constitution in 1787, and two years later he won the unanimous vote of the Electoral College to serve as America's first President.

Washington was sworn into office in New York on April 30, 1789. He was elected to a second term but retired from public life when his term expired on March 3, 1797. The highlights of his Presidency include laying the cornerstone of the U.S. Capitol building in Washington, D.C., in 1793 and presiding over the Coinage Act of 1792 that established the U.S. Mint.

Following the Presidency, Washington retired to Mount Vernon. He died at Mount Vernon on December 14, 1799.