Home > Dollars > Presidential > 2014 > 2014 Sets >

2014 Herbert Hoover Presidential Dollar - P & D - 3pc Lens Set

2014 Herbert Hoover Presidential Dollar - Philadelphia & Denver -  Lens

Our Price: $24.95
Year: 2014
Mint(s): Philadelphia/Denver
Composition: Manganese Brass
Diameter: 26.5 mm

Product Code: 26707

About this Product Full Product Name
2014 Herbert Clark Hoover Presidential Dollar

Herbert Clark Hoover was the 31st President of the United States of America. He was born August 10, 1874 to a Quaker family and rose to prominence with his humanitarian efforts in Belgium and as the head of the U.S. Food Administration during World War I. Hoover also served as the United States Secretary of Commerce under Harding and Coolidge, and prior to his Presidency, never served as an elected official. Under Harding ad Coolidge, Hoover was known for promoting partnerships between government and business under the theory of "economic modernization." Due to the economic bubble of the 1920s, Hoover, as the Republican candidiate, easily won the American vote.

President Hoover believed in the Efficiency Movement, which at its most basic beliefs held that the government and economy were riddled with inefficiency and waste, and through the work of experts who could identify these issues, such wastefulness could be stopped. He was also the first President to redistribute their salary (Kennedy would be the second). Hoover, unfortunately, is mainly known for his role in the Great Depression, which took place after the Wall Street Crash of 1929, just eight months after Hoover took office. Any and all attempts to increase revenue and create jobs under Hoover's Presidency were incredibly unsuccessful, but did in fact lay the ground work for FDR's New Deal. The consensus among historians is that Hoover's defeat in the 1932 election was cuased primarily by his failure to end the downward economic spiral, although his support for strong enforcement of prohibition was also a factor.

Presidential Dollars

The historic Presidential Dollars series began in 2007 with coins for George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. This is the FIRST coin program in history to honor all of America's Presidents, and it is destined to be the most popular collection in history, even BIGGER and more popular than the State Quarters!

Each golden coin is strictly a limited edition. The Washington and Adams coins that were made for circulation are already out of issue. The unique edge lettering on each Presidential Dollar makes the series a "special" first in United States history. It has never been done before on a coin intended for circulation. This was accomplished by each coin being struck twice; once for the image front and back, the second the edge lettering. This process created two distinct varieties: Coins with lettering "Face-Up" aka: Type I Coins with the edge lettering "Face-Down" aka: Type II.

This is for the Philadelphia/Denver Lens Set of Presidential Dollars. It will come in our custom lens.

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Dollars > Presidential > 2014 > 2014 Sets
Presidential Dollars
Dollars > Presidential
Presidential Dollars > 2014
Dollars > Presidential > 2014
Presidential Dollars > 2014 > Herbert Hoover
Dollars > Presidential > 2014 > Herbert Hoover
Dollars > Presidential > Sets & Collections
Presidential Dollars > Sets/Collections